Skip to main content

Faculty Office and External Relations

The office focuses on overall issues regarding research, doctoral education, education and internationalisation in accordance with the demands from the management and the faculty boards.


The mission of the office is to be a strategic and administrative support to the three faculty boards and regarding internationalisation, to the management as well.The tasks involve handling of cases, preparation of strategies and conduction of investigations in a legally safe way and with high quality.

Furthermore, the office is responsible for coordinating KI’s international operations and to service the community in matters relating to the office’s responsibilities.

The office is divided into three units:

  • Faculty Office
  • Grants Office
  • International Relations Office


Björn Kull

Head of unit

Susanne Maxeem

Department administrator

Pernilla Witte

Administrative officer

Faculty Office

The unit provides strategic and administrative support for the academic vice presidents, the three faculty boards and their respective subdivisions. The unit also provides support for the Research Advisory Committee and the Education Advisory Committee within the collaboration organisation between Karolinska Institutet and Stockholm County Council.

Mats Andersson Administrative officer

Lena Atterwall Coordinator

Nina Bandmann Scientific coordinator

Maria Bengtsson Administrative officer

Anna-Carin Christoffersson Coordinator

Hien Ekeroth Administrative officer

Birgit Ekroth Administrator

Magnus Ericson Coordinator

Clara Ersson Coordinator

Anna Gustafsson Administrative officer

Ulrika Helldén Coordinator

Christina Joos Administrative officer

Bodil Lampén Helgesson Administrative officer

Lena Lewin Coordinator

Philip Malmgren Administrative officer

Susanne Maxeem Department administrator

Caroline Olsson Administrative officer

Maya Petrén Coordinator

Klara Regnö Coordinator

Karin Vågstrand Coordinator

Ingeborg van der Ploeg Director of studies


Postal address: Karolinska Institutet, Faculty Office and External Relations, 171 77 Stockholm
Visiting address: Nobels väg 6, 7th floor, KI Campus Solna

Grants Office

Are you a researcher at Karolinska Institutet and need assistance in finding funding for your research?

We at Grants Office direct us to the university researchers and administrators with advice on administration, finance and formulation of the application, and when it is time to signing an application or subsequent a contract.

Do not hesitate to contact us.

Björn Kull Head of unit

Anne Thyrfing Edeborg Administrative officer

Carolina Kristell Coordinator

Christine Chang Coordinator

Cecilia Martinsson Björkdahl Project manager

Charlotte Tunell Administrative officer

Daniela Strodthoff Coordinator

Dobril-Philip Petkov Coordinator

Elisabeth Hedström Coordinator

Eva Bjur Coordinator

Inger Lundqvist Project manager

Jan-Olov Höög Professor

Johan Lundeqvist System manager

Jodie Guy Claesson Coordinator

Kerstin Lundin Project Manager

Kia Olsson Administrative officer

Nikolaos Volakakis, Coodinator

Paulina Mihailova Administrative officer

Richard Cowburn Project Manager

Stina Branting Communications officer

Tamsin Lindström Coordinator

Tove Älvemark Asp Foundation manager

Ying Zhao Coordinator


Postal address: Karolinska Institutet, Faculty Office and External Relations, 171 77 Stockholm
Visiting address: Nobels väg 15A, KI Campus Solna

International Relations Office

The International Relations Office is involved in strategic issues, project management, contract management and information regarding internationalisation. International visits and events at management level as well as issues related to tuition fees and scholarships are coordinated by the unit.

The International Relations Office operates principally on behalf of the three operating boards, the study programme committees and the management of Karolinska Institutet.
At the unit, the KI International Strategy Committee (IS), the Board of Higher Education’s drafting committee for internationalisation and other committees are coordinated. Externally funded mobility programmes (such as the Erasmus+, the Erasmus Mundus and the Linnaeus Palme programme), investigations, and evaluations are also coordinated at the unit.

Johanna Ackemar International coordinator

Maissa Al-Adhami (tjl) Coordinator

Monika Berge International coordinator

Luni Chen Associated

Anna Dahlerus International coordinator

Johanna Diehl International coordinator

Katarina Drakenberg International coordinator

Albin Gaunt Project Manager

Emma Hägg International coordinator

Kristina Jesinkey International coordinator

Lotta Lundqvist International coordinator

Maria Olsson Coordinator

Anna-Lena Paulsson Head of unit

Ulla Tunkara Administrative officer

Ulrika Widegren Scientific coordinator

Pernilla Witte Administrative officer


Postal address: Karolinska Institutet, Faculty Office and External Relations, 171 77 Stockholm
Visiting address: Nobels väg 6, 7th floor, KI Campus Solna