About me

2019-present:  Assoc. Professor of Metabolism (Docent), Karolinska Inst.

2014-2018: Asst. Professor, Karolinska Inst.          

2011-2013: PostDoc at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA. 

2011: Ph.D. Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden.

2006: MSc. Stockholm Research School in Molecular Life Science.

2005: MSc. Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden.


Research description

We are mainly focusing on the following overarching topics:

1. Metabolic Adaptations to Oncogenes and Tumor Suppressors. 

2. Metabolic Signal Transduction.   

3. Molecular Regulators of Metabolic Heterogeneity


Research Group ' Cellular Metabolism:

Vitaly Kaminsky, PhD, Senior Researcher.

Elena Kochetkova, PhD, PostDoc,

Boxi Zhang, PhD, PostDoc.

Lyudmila Krassikova, PhD, PostDoc.

Divya Nagarajan, PhD, PostDoc.

Vagelis Samakidis, MSc, Lab technician.

Anastasiia Krasko, MSc student.



Dawn E Comstock, MD-PhD student, Harvard Medical School. Yiwei Ai, MD, research student

Dominique Smith, Masters student, Uppsala University.

Wirood Aldjezani, Masters Student, Uppsala University.


Select Original Publications:

1. The deubiquitinase JOSD2 is a positive regulator of glucose metabolism. Krassikova L, Zhang B, Nagarajan D, Queiroz AL, Kacal M, Samakidis E, Vakifahmetoglu-Norberg H, Norberg E. Cell Death Differ. 2020 Oct 20. doi: 10.1038/s41418-020-00639-1. Online ahead of print.

>News: https://news.ki.se/newly-discovered-mechanism-controls-cancer-cell-grow…

2. Ambroise G, Yu TT, Zhang B, Kacal M, Hao Y, Queiroz AL, Ouchida AT, Lindskog C, Norberg E#, Vakifahmetoglu-Norberg H#. Systematic analysis reveals a functional role for STAMBPL1 in the epithelial-mesenchymal transition process across multiple carcinomas. British Journal of Cancer. 2020 Sep;123(7):1164-1177.       # co-corresponding author

3. Zhang B, Zheng A, Hydbring P, Ambroise G, Ouchida AT, Goiny M, Vakifahmetoglu-Norberg, H, Norberg E. PHGDH Defines a metabolic subtype in lung adenocarcinomas with poor prognosis. Cell Reports 2017 Jun 13;19(11):2289-2303.

>Selected as 'Issue Highlight' by Cell Reports.

4. Eriksson M, Ambroise G, Ouchida AT, Queiroz AL, Smith D, Gimenez-Cassina A, Iwanicki MP, Muller PA, Norberg E#, Vakifahmetoglu-Norberg H#. The effect of Mutant p53 Proteins on Glycolysis and Mitochondrial Metabolism. Mol Cell Biol. 2017 Nov 28;37(24)      # Co-corresponding author.

>Selected for the Cover volume 37, issue 24.

5. Zhang B, Tornmalm J, Widengren J, Vakifahmetoglu-Norberg H, Norberg E. Characterization of the Role of the Malate Dehydrogenases to Lung Tumor Cell Survival. Journal of Cancer 2017; 8(11):2088-2096. 


Select Collaboration papers:

1. Quantitative proteomic analysis of temporal lysosomal proteome and the impact of the KFERQ-like motif and LAMP2A in lysosomal targeting. Kacal M, Zhang B, Hao Y, Norberg E, Vakifahmetoglu-Norberg H Autophagy 2021 Jan 14.   doi: 10.1080/15548627.2021.1876343. [Online ahead of print.]

2. Targetome analysis of chaperone-mediated autophagy in cancer cells. Hao Y, Kacal M, Ouchida AT, Zhang B, Norberg E, Vakifahmetoglu-Norberg H. Autophagy 2019 09;15(9):1558-1571       

Select Reviews/Editorials:

1. Queiroz AL, Vakifahmetoglu-Norberg H, Norberg E. Resistant to Targeted Therapy - Aim for Metabolic Liabilities. Theranostics 2018; 8(7): 2061-2063.

2. Vakifahmetoglu-Norberg H, Ouchida A, Norberg E. The role of Mitochondria in Metabolism and Cell Death. Biochem Biophys Res Commun. (2017) Jan 15;482(3):426-431

>As of July/August 2017, this Review received enough citations to place it in the top 1% of the academic field of Biology & Biochemistry (Web of Science).

3. Stanley I, Ribeiro S, Gimenez-Cassina A, Norberg E, Danial NN. Changing appetites: The adaptive advantages of fuel choice. Trends in Cell Biology. 2014 Feb;24(2):118-27


Open Positions:

2 Master of Science Project (start 2021)

1 PhD student position available from end of 2021 or begining of 2022.

1 PostDoc positions available. start 2021

Teaching portfolio


Academic honours, awards and prizes

  1. Dimitris N Chorafas Prize - for best Ph.D. thesis at the Karolinska Institute 2011.
  2. The Lennart Philipson Award 2015 - Awarded biannuallly to one researcher at the Karolinska Institute.