Research description

My research focuses on clinical, behavioral studies of orofacial neuroscience with particular emphasis on behavioral learning, skill acquisition, and the effects of training on improving oral motor skills. I am interested in mechanisms related to cortical plasticity in the corticomotor pathways associated with the various orofacial muscles. I am also interested in the influence of craniofacial pain on oral motor and fine motor skills and adaptation to the altered oral environment.

Teaching portfolio

My teaching responsibilities include supervising doctoral students in a co-supervisory capacity. I also supervise master's students, undergraduate dental students, Visiting Researchers, and Visiting doctoral students in the capacity of both main and co-supervisor.


  • 2012-2015: Doctor of Philosophy (PhD), Section of Orofacial Pain and Jaw Function, Department of Dentistry, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • 2002-2007: Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS), Bapuji Dental College and Hospital, Rajiv Gandhi University of Health and Sciences, Bangalore, India.

Academic honours, awards and prizes

  • Editorial board member: Journal of Oral Rehabilitation
  • Editorial board member: BMC Oral Health
  • Associate Editor: Frontiers in Dental Medicine

Grants and awards

Main Applicant 

  • 2021: Research grant from Stockholm County Council and Karolinska Institutet (SOF: Styrgruppen för Odontologisk Forskning).
  • 2021: Nakao foundation
  • 2020: Loo and Hans Osterman Foundation for Medical Research
  • 2020: Karolinska Institutet Research Foundation Grants
  • 2018: Karolinska Institutet Travel grant
  • 2014: Aarhus University, Travel grant for a research stay at Karolinska Institutet, Sweden during PhD.
  • 2013: Research support grant for PhD project from Colgate.
  • 2012: International mobility scholarship to pursue fully-funded PhD education at Aarhus University, Denmark.


  • 2021: Karolinska Institutet’s Research Foundation Grants.
  • 2021: Patentmedelsfonden
  • 2020: KI-NDCS-NTU oral health steering group Seed funding grant
  • 2020: Swedish research council (VR)
  • 2020: Karolinska Institutet’s Research Foundation Grants.
  • 2020: Erik and Edith Fernström Foundation
  • 2017: Det Frie Forskningsråd, Danish council for independent research, Denmark.