A co-worker returns to NVS

Johanna Törnqvist returns as and educational administrator at NVS, appreciating the new Educational Administration office.

Johanna Törnqvist, educational administrator at the NVS Educational Administration. Photo: Private.

What is your role at NVS?

I work at Educational Administration, as an educational administrator for the Nursing Study Programme. My work consists of a variety of tasks, such as creating course rooms in Canvas, register students’ results in Ladok, administer course evaluations using KI Survey, among other things. It means working in close contact with the teachers primarily, as well as some student interaction.

What are your thoughts on the new educational administration office?

I think it works great, a big advantage is that we have better insight into each other’s work and duties, regardless of role. Collaboration is much easier, the work flows better, there is a common thread in the students’ path from start to finish.

You have previously worked at KI, what made you want to return?

Honestly, I missed the administrative work. I find the work varying, no one day is like the other. Another reason for my return was the new organization. It seemed interesting, and I believe in teamwork between the different roles within educational administration.

How long have you been at KI, total?

I started in 2008 and left 2018, and now I am back since February 2021, so a total of 10.5 years. I have only worked at the department of NVS, although in three different divisions; nursing, occupational therapy, and physiotherapy.

What is important to you in the workplace? What do you need to thrive?

Most important for me is to feel at ease with the group, good leadership, an open atmosphere, and direct channels for information. If you bond with your coworkers, and the work environment is good, you tend to perform better.

What do you do to relax in your spare time?

Hiking in the woods, enjoying the beautiful surroundings in Nykvarn where I live.

What are your hobbies?

I like spending time with family and friends, gardening, and relaxing by the pool on a warm summer day. Working out in different ways gives me energy. Another big interest is baking in any form, I like to try new recipes.

What is the best thing that has happened to you?

The birth of my children. I have an 18-year-old son, and a daughter who is 14.