KI South Distinguished Lecture Series

The KI South Distinguished Lecture series at the Karolinska Institutet South Campus welcomes outstanding international scientists to present their latest discoveries and concepts of interest to a broad range of biomedical researchers, clinicians and students.

Lecture in a conference room
From the lecture with Guido Kroemer Photo: Marie Franzén


  • A short talk given by a local early career researcher/junior PI working at KI South to introduce the subject (15 min)
  • KI South Distinguished Lecture by prestigious international speaker (45 min)
  • Afternoon reception and interaction with the speakers and researchers
  • Dinner for a small group including the speaker and researchers from KI South

The proposing PI should also act as the host for the invited speaker.

The local KI South speaker will be selected through the nominations and decided upon at the same time as the distinguished lecturer.

This lecture series holds up to four lectures per year, always on a Tuesday 15:00. These are followed by a joint mingling outside the lecture hall. After that a smaller group of invited younger researchers will have the opportunity to discuss with the lecturer separately.

PI:s at KI South are welcome to nominate outstanding lecturers to this lecture series. For more information and nominations please contact the representatives of the KI South Distinguished Lecture Group at your department. For administrative questions you can also contact the coordinator of Dean KI South (coordinator of the lecture group).

The KI South Distinguished Lecture Group consists of representatives from each KI South department (including BioNut, LabMed, DentMed, MedH, CLINTEC, NVS, SÖS). The group will collect the lecturer nominations and make the final decision about whom to invite. The aim is to select proposals from all KI South departments that cover basic, clinical and translational research of broad interest and relevance for KI South activities.

Once selected, KI South Distinguished Lecture Group and the respective host will invite the lecturers, work on the program and the administrative details supported by the host’s departments administration.

Upcoming lecturers

17/9-2024 Piero Carninci and Carsten Daub

22/10-2024 Michael Lean and ...

Previous Lecturers

4/5-2021 Molly Stevens and Samir EL Andaloussi

26/10-2021 Fabrizio d'Adda di Fagagna and Marianne Farnebo

23/11-2021 Guido Kroemer and Federico Pietrocola

31/5-2022 Nigel Mackman and Charlotte Thålin

22/11-2022 Gavin Perkins and Jacob Hollenberg (at KI SÖS)

7/2-2023 Aurélie Goyenvalle and Joel Nordin

9/5-2023 Martha Somerman and Georgios Belibasakis

5/9-2023 Antonio Bertoletti and Marcus Buggert

14/11-2023 Katsuhiko Hayashi and Pauliina Damdimopoulou

5/12-2023 Angela Nieto and Jonas Fuxe

9/4-2024 Rebecca Gottesman and Anna Marseglia


KI South Distinguished Lecture Group

Eckardt Treuter (Chair)

Marie Franzén (coordinator to Dean KI South)

Franziska Albrecht (NVS)

Daniel Andersson (MedH)

Georgios Belibasakis (DentMed)

Carl Jorns (CLINTEC)

Vanessa Lundin (MedH)

Anna Marseglia (NVS)

Joel Nordin (LabMed)

Thomas Nyström (KI SÖS)

Martina Persson (KI SÖS)

Dhifaf Sarhan (LabMed)

Rachael Sugars (DentMed)

Peter Svensson (BioNut)

Anna Witasp (CLINTEC)



Content reviewer:
Marie Franzen