Prize for Internationalisation in Teaching and Learning

Sweden’s medical faculties have set up a joint prize for the internationalisation of first and second-cycle education in order to encourage their teachers and teaching teams to actively raise the level of internationalisation in higher education by bringing an international dimension to their teaching and by improving the students’ global perspective.

Flags and contours of people

The prize is awarded to the teacher/teaching team that has made a significant contribution to raising the level of internationalisation in higher education over the past three years.

This may be achieved, for example, through the development of virtual international course components, through a new teaching experience in the international classroom, or through initiatives that encourage student and teacher mobility or internationalisation of the curriculum.

Each participating university contributes to the prize with SEK 20 000. The prize will be awarded biannually for five years.

Nomination and selection of prize winner(s)

Who can nominate a teacher or teaching team?

  • All employees and affiliates can nominate themselves or their colleagues
  • Students

When is the nomination period?

1 February - 29 February 2024.  Note! Please prepare your text in word. Avoid working directly in the nomination form as not all text will be visible. You cannot save and exit to continue filling out later.

Selection of awardee

A nomination committee at each medical faculty chooses its local candidate for the prize. The nominations are assessed on 5 different criteria. The respective faculty candidates are thereafter assessed by the central prize committee consisting of one representative per university, who finally appoints the prize winners. The award is decided and announced at the Annual Dean's Meeting in April/May. 

The local nomination committee is decided by the Chair of the Committee of Higher Education. Student representatives take part in the selection of the final nominated candidate.

After the winner has been announced, respective medical faculty´s final nominee will be published on the  Gothenburg University webpage as good examples of internationalisation.

Local nomination committee 2024

  • Jonas Sundbäck, chair and KI's representative in the central prize committee
  • Rune Brautaset
  • Vladana Vucojevic
  • Student representative - under recruitment


Ida Mattiasson - University of Gothenburg
Emma Hägg - Karolinska Institutet
Maria Sjöström- Lund University
Anna Maria Josefsson -  Linköpings University
Mari-Helen Kula - Umeå University
Louise Hernander - Uppsala University
Karolin Östergård - Örebro University​​​​​​​

Content reviewer:
Emma Hägg