Prize for Internationalisation in Teaching and Learning

Sweden’s medical faculties have set up a joint prize for the internationalisation of first and second-cycle education in order to encourage their teachers and teaching teams to actively raise the level of internationalisation in higher education by bringing an international dimension to their teaching and by improving the students’ global perspective.

Flags and contours of people

The prize is awarded to the teacher/teaching team that has made a significant contribution to raising the level of internationalisation in higher education over the past three years.

This may be achieved, for example, through the development of virtual international course components, through a new teaching experience in the international classroom, or through initiatives that encourage student and teacher mobility or internationalisation of the curriculum.

The prize of SEK 15 000 from each participating university will be awarded annually for five years.

Nomination and selection of prize winner(s)

Who can nominate a teacher or teaching team?

  • All employees and affiliates can nominate themselves or their colleagues
  • Students

When is the nomination period?

14 February - 14 March 2022.  Note! Please prepare your text in word. Avoid working directly in the nomination form as not all text will be visible. You cannot save and exit to continue filling out later.

Nomination form (will open 14 February 2022)

Selection of awardee

A nomination committee at each participating medical faculty will select its candidate for the prize. The proposals are presented to the Central Prize Committee, which will then suggest a winner. The prize winner will be announced at the Annual Dean Meeting.

According to decision KI's representative in the Central Prize Committee for 2022 will be Susanne Guidetti. Together with Helena Lindgren and Jonas Sundbäck, Susanne Guidetti form the local nomination committee. Student representatives take part in the selection of candidates.

After the winner has been announced, all nominations will be published as good examples of internationalisation at the faculties.


Bettina Sommarstorm  - University of Gothenburg
Emma Hägg - Karolinska Institutet
Elisabeth Axell - Lund University
Wasif Ali - Umeå University
Anna Lindberg - Uppsala University
Malin Bertilsson - Örebro University
Vacant - Linköping University